Posted on

The song should’ve been “I Don’t Like Saturdays”

What do the The Boomtown Rats know, anyway? While I suppose there are those who look forward to Saturday with as much glee as they look forward to Monday with dread, I’m the opposite. Saturdays, you see, mean that everyone is home. By everyone I mean 2 kids, 1 husband, 1 dog, 1 cat, 2 birds, 2 turtles, and a fish.

Don’t get me wrong. I always have high hopes for Saturday. It just never turns out quite like I had planned. Instead of being able to calmly drink my coffee and enjoy some sunshine and outdoor solitude, I end up with a screaming toddler who hates the word “No!” and a bored 5-year old who won’t stop bugging me about his damn GameCube (I swear I’m going to burn that thing!) Add to that a husband who has worked hard all week and wants to sit around all weekend watching sports and playing online poker (meaning either the house magically cleans itself up, or I do it), and Saturdays are a real treat for me.

Right now, I’m enjoying my 60 minutes of peace, quiet, and coffee since Meshegne took the boys to Sabbath school. No, I don’t go to Sabbath school with them. We’ll talk about that later. 🙂 I should be looking for his keys, the loss of which this morning caused much frustration and irritation. First I’m going to finish my blog duties, then I’ll go straighten up and see if I can find them. I have a 4:00 massage with a friend today (Happy Birthday to me! Thanks Meshegne!).

Maybe this Saturday can be salvaged…

(For those of you who don’t get The Boomtown Rats reference, they were a bad in the 80’s. The leader, Bob Geldof, was the organizer of the original Live Aid. One of their biggest hits was a song called “I Don’t Like Mondays“. For those of you who do know the song, don’t worry. I’m not ready for a shooting spree.)

2 responses to “The song should’ve been “I Don’t Like Saturdays”

  1. How was the massage?? You sounded like you really needed one! I haven’t had one in forever! 😦

  2. No Stick Figures ⋅

    Once it started, it was great! My girlfriend was late meeting me so instead of a 55-minute massage I had to settle for a 30-minute one. Oh well…I have a credit on my gift cert, so I can go back. 🙂

Leave a comment